It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly Communication: Copyright and Author's Rights
An introductory guide to issues in scholarly communication, including scholarly publishing, copyright, author rights, open access, open educational resources, and institutional repositories.
The U.S. Copyright Office defines copyright as "a type of intellectual property that protects original works of authorship as soon as an author fixes the work in a tangible form of expression. In copyright law, there are a lot of different types of works, including paintings, photographs, illustrations, musical compositions, sound recordings, computer programs, books, poems, blog posts, movies, architectural works, plays, and so much more!"
What Rights Does Copyright Provide?
U.S. copyright law provides copyright owners with the following exclusive rights:
Reproduce the work.
Prepare derivative works based upon the work.
Distribute or publish the work.
Perform the work publicly.
Display the work publicly.
Copyright also provides the owner of copyright the right to authorize others to exercise these exclusive rights, subject to certain statutory limitations.
Copyrighted materials may be used without seeking permission from copyright holders if the use meets the requirements for fair use. To determine whether a use is fair use, several factors need to be considered (17 U.S.C. § 107):
the purpose and character of the use, including whether such use is of a commercial nature or is for nonprofit educational purposes;
the nature of the copyrighted work;
the amount and substantiality of the portion used in relation to the copyrighted work as a whole; and
the effect of the use upon the potential market for or value of the copyrighted work.
The following resources can help you decide whether your use of copyrighted material falls under fair use:
As soon as authors begin creating an original work in any fixed medium including electronic medium, the work is copyrighted and no other actions are necessary for it to be protected. Unfortunately, many publishers may require authors to sign away their rights to their work, as part of the standard publishing agreement.
Authors can avoid relinquishing the rights to their work in several ways:
Sherpa Romeo is an online resource that aggregates and presents publisher and journal open access policies from around the world. Every registered publisher or journal held in Romeo is carefully reviewed, analyzed, and accompanied by a summary of self-archiving permissions and conditions of rights given to authors.
"An author addendum is a proposed modification to a publisher's standard copyright transfer agreement. If accepted, it would allow the author to retain key rights, especially the right to authorize OA. Because an addendum is merely a proposed contract modification, a publisher may accept or reject it." (Simmons University)
The SPARC Author Addendum is a legal instrument that authors can use to modify their copyright transfer agreements with non-open access journal publishers.
Coaching Copyright by Erin L. Ellis (Editor); Kevin L. Smith (Editor)From researching to remixing, library users need your guidance on a wide range of copyright topics. The way to move beyond "yes, you can" or "no, you can't" is to become a copyright coach. In this collection librarian and attorney Smith teams up with information literacy expert Ellis to offer a framework for coaching copyright, empowering users to take a practical approach to specific situations. Complete with in-depth case studies, this collection provides valuable information rooted in pragmatic techniques, including in-depth discussion of the five questions that will help you clarify any copyright situation; storytelling techniques to enliven copyright presentations, plus ways to use music or YouTube to hook students into copyright topics; three coaching scenarios that tie into ACRL's Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education and bring real-world applications to your library instruction; how-to guidance on leading mock negotiations over real journal publishing agreements; a 90-minute lesson plan on author rights for writers in a student journal; tips for teaching instructional designers how to apply copyright and fair use principles to course management systems; and an LIS copyright course assessment model. This resource will help you become a copyright coach by showing you how to discern the most important issues in a situation, determine which questions you need to ask, and give a response that is targeted to the specific need.
Call Number: EBOOK CENTRAL (Need ERAU login)
Publication Date: 2020-04-15
Copyright: What Everyone Needs to Know by Neil Weinstock NetanelCopyright law was once an esoteric backwater, the special province of professional authors, publishers, and media companies. This is no longer the case. In the age of social media and cloud storage, we have become a copying and sharing culture. Much of our everyday communication, work, and entertainment now directly involves copyright law. Copyright law and policy are ferociously contested. Record labels, movie studios, book publishers, newspapers, and many authors rage that those who share music, video, text, and images over the Internet are "stealing" their property. By contrast, copyright industry critics celebrate digital technology's potential to make the universe of movies, music, books, and art accessible anytime and anywhere - and to empower individuals the world over to express themselves by sharing and remixing those works. These critics argue that excessive copyright enforcement threatens that promise and stifles creativity. In Copyright: What Everyone Needs to Know®, Neil Netanel explains the concepts needed to understand the heated debates about copyright law and policy. He identifies the combatants, unpacks their arguments, and illuminates what is at stake in the debates over copyright's present and future.
Call Number: KF2995.N45 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-10
The Copyright Handbook: What Every Writer Needs to Know by Stephen FishmanIf you work with words, you need this book No writer likes to see their hard work or creativity copied by others--or to be accused of copying. Fortunately,The Copyright Handbook provides everything you need to protect yourself. Find information and forms to help you: learn what copyright law protects and doesn't register your work with the Copyright Office deal with infringers, online and off transfer ownership of a copyright get international copyright protection understand the "fair use" rule obtain permission to use copyrighted work, and profit from your copyright. The 14th edition is updated with key court decisions and emerging rules in order to provide the latest guidance on registering and protecting your work. With Downloadable Forms: Essential forms and agreements including a Copyright Assignment, Work-Made-for-Hire Agreement, Collaboration Agreement, and Permission Agreement are available for download (details inside).
Call Number: KF2995.F53 2021
Publication Date: 2020-12-29
Managing Copyright in Higher Education: A Guidebook by Donna L. FerulloAs more and more colleges and universities establish copyright offices and/or assign the responsibilities of copyright education and advisory services to specific individuals within the institution, many times librarians, there is a paucity of resources available on how to manage that responsibility. Most works on copyright discuss the law and court cases interpreting the law but few address the situational application of it and the management and coordination of copyright efforts on a campus. Here is a complete, one-stop, guide to managing copyright at all levels--community college, college, and university. Complete chapters are devoted to: -The university culture -The role of a copyright office -How to establish a copyright office -Copyright services for librarians -Copyright services for faculty -Copyright services for administrators and staff -Copyright services for students Written by the director of the University Copyright Office at Purdue University who holds both law and library science degrees, this is complete, authoritative guide is a must-purchase for every institution of higher education seeking to comply with the copyright law and thus avoid potential liability exposure.